We are extremely happy to be able to count on the support of Sun Life to breathe life into our Passport to employment program. It is a crucial component of YWCA Montreal’s Plan for the Future. In fact, Sun Life is donating $150,000 over five years, all of it going towards our different employability programs, helping to make them even more relevant in a job market that currently finds itself in a state of total upheaval.

Also, in addition to their financial contribution, Sun Life has committed itself even further, creating a bridge between the company and current YWCA employability program participants. In fact, members of Sun Life’s human resources team will be meeting with participants regularly to inform them of available employment opportunities within the organization and to make it easier for them to access job interviews.

The benefit is threefold

Thanks to this added engagement, the company has the possibility to fills positions essential to meeting the needs of its clients, our employability programs fulfil their mandate of placing women in employment, and last but not least, our participants has the opportunity to join the ranks of people working for a leading employer that offers opportunities for advancement as well as a rewarding career.

“YWCA Montreal’s Passport to employment will have a significant social and economic benefits. It will provide a long-term solution to labour shortages and precarious employment, an issue faced by many women. At a time when they have been severely affected by job losses resulting from the pandemic, the support it will provide will have a significant impact by making it possible for hundreds of women to access well-paying jobs. We are very proud to contribute to this initiative,” states Robert Dumas, President and Chief Executive Officer of Sun Life Quebec.

Thanks to Mr. Dumas as well as the whole Sun Life Québec team to support the YWCA Montreal’s Plan for the future’s Passeport to employement!

Nous sommes heureuses de pouvoir compter sur l’appui de la Sun Life afin de rendre vivant notre Passeport vers l’emploi, part essentielle du Plan d’avenir du Y des femmes de Montréal. En effet, la Sun Life a accordé un don de 150 000 $ sur cinq ans, entièrement dédié à bonifier nos différents programmes d’employabilité afin de les rendre encore plus pertinents dans ce marché du travail complètement chamboulé.

Également, au-delà de leur participation financière, la Sun Life a poussé son engagement un peu plus loin en créant un pont entre l’entreprise et les participantes actuelles des programmes d’employabilité du Y des femmes. En effet, des membres de l’équipe des ressources humaines de la Sun Life vont ponctuellement à leur rencontre afin de leurs présenter les opportunités d’emploi disponibles au sein de l’entreprise et faciliter l’accès à des entrevues d’embauche.

Une pierre, trois coups 

Grâce à cet engagement supplémentaire, l’entreprise a la possibilité de combler des postes essentiels pour répondre à sa clientèle, nos programmes d’employabilité accomplissent leur mandat de placer des femmes en emploi et, finalement, nos participantes peuvent se voir offrir de joindre les rangs d’un employeur de choix offrant des opportunités d’avancement ainsi qu’une carrière valorisante.

« Le Passeport vers l’emploi du Y des femmes de Montréal est un programme aux retombées sociales et économiques importantes. Il propose une solution durable aux problématiques de pénurie de main-d’œuvre et d’emploi précaire pour de nombreuses femmes. Dans un contexte où celles-ci ont été durement touchées par les pertes d’emploi des conséquences de la pandémie, le soutien qu’il suggère aura un impact important en permettant à des centaines de femmes d’accéder à des emplois bien rémunérés. Nous sommes très fiers d’y contribuer », a déclaré Robert Dumas, président et chef de la direction de la Sun Life Québec.

Merci à M. Dumas ainsi qu’à toute l’équipe de la Sun Life Québec de soutenir le Passeport vers l’emploi du Plan d’avenir du Y des femmes de Montréal!